“When my strength is spent…”

Amidst the nice, good memories/moments I’ve posted on social media over the past few weeks, we have also had some intensely explosive meltdowns in our home this season that have literally left us reeling. Triggers? Who knows—likely a combo of changing meds (again…), new and changing schedules/routines, the weather, flared asthma/allergies, mixed up sleep or eating, or just plain sin… Whatever has triggered them, we have at times literally been crying out loud, “I don’t know what to do anymore!!” All of the books we’ve read, the therapists we’ve visited, my professional training, the seminars we’ve gone to, the skills we’ve tried to use, sometimes still leave us feeling hopeless and helpless…and all alone.

In these moments, admittedly sometimes out of desperation (instead of doing this first!?), we have cried out to the Lord, begging for His presence and His wisdom…

And in His mercy, He has met us…

These verses (in the picture, and at the end of this post) were opening verses that “just happened to” be the openings of my readings the mornings after some of these meltdowns…

…comforting balm to my hurting heart.

We have received “out of the blue” texts and emails from friends who know us, love us and pray for us.

We have had times of unexpected quiet and peace in our days to refresh mentally and physically.

We have had “unexpected” financial benefits lift us up when we were wondering how will we…

And probably best of all, we have had moments of completely humbling ourselves, as we’ve cried together, having nothing left, but uniting our hearts as a team again, as we called out to the Lord…

God is good. All the time.

Humbly seeking His wisdom—this is where He wants us to be, in each of our unique situations.

To all of my fellow “SuperMoms” (a.k.a. “Special moms” and dads!)…

Know that I see you!!

We understand.

You are loved.

You are delighted in…by us,

but most of all, by Him!

“…Forsake me not when my strength is spent.” – Psalm 71:9

“…He rescued me, because He delighted in me.”

– Psalm 18:19

“You who have made me see many troubles and calamities will revive me again; from the depths of the earth you will bring me up again.

You will increase my greatness and comfort me again.”

– Psalm 71:20-21

Leave a comment